Thanksgiving 2013

Last year, I spent Thanksgiving in Australia.  I was working at a missions base and a crew of Americans put together a meal for around 70 people.  It was a fun adventure of working to share a day of remembrance of life and blessings with many from others cultures.  Also with the many Americans around we had quite the variety of different dishes.

When I look back on the year that has passed since last Thanksgiving, I can see many different blessings laced in daily life.  It can be really difficult to see blessings in times of hardship, and I want to gain a deeper level of seeing blessings.

Today I am deeply Thankful for my family.  They have been helping me live for the last couple of months – literally making sure I have food to eat and a place to sleep.  Last year I met many who struggle just to have food and shelter.  People who live in slums in Indonesia, and street people in Australia.  I know there are many here in America who are in the same position.  I really don’t know where I would have been without the help of my family.

I am thankful for opportunities.  To see where I have traveled, the experiences I have been a part of, and the events that will happen in the future.  I definitely have wanderlust in my life and God has never skimped on the opportunities that have presented themselves to me.  I want to be able to see these adventures even more.  To find places in the desert that will fulfill my desire for new and different things.  Even simple things like a local shop or park.  It doesn’t have to be overseas to be new and exciting – but overseas is good too!

Lastly, and mostly, I am thankful for the gift of life.  For my Creator and Lord who gave his life that I may live.  I am thankful for new understanding in being called to live in Christ and seeing his life change mine.  I would be so lost without Jesus.

I pray that you have a new understanding and joy that fills your heart today on Thanksgiving day and every day.

One thought on “Thanksgiving 2013

Leave a comment