“Christmas Time is Here…”

Does that bring up the Charlie Brown Christmas song for you?  It does for me, but I really love that movie so I have a fondness for the song.

I mentioned briefly that I would be participating in a 12 Days of Christmas Link up.  My good friend Bekah writes on her blog re·solve and has created a 12 day celebration along with her friend Aleshea who writes at glitz & grits.

So the Day 1 prompt is:  What does Christmas mean to me?

Christmas means a lot of things.  When I was young and it meant going to Church, singing “Come on Ring Those Bells” and celebrating Jesus’ birth, going to Grandma’s house, getting time off of school, watching cheesy movies about Santa Claus, and receiving an orange and underwear in my stocking (thank you Grandma).

Now that I am older, I carry a much deeper sense on Christmas.  Things changed when I was no longer with family to celebrate.  I can remember when I was in Germany my first Christmas, and I stepped outside just at midnight after being with friends on Christmas Eve.  Right at midnight, the bells started ringing.  It was dark and the stars were shining and the bells ringing in celebration.  Christmas now is being in different places and with different people and still having that deep sense of Jesus’ presence.  Of knowing celebrating his birth will lead to celebrating his death and resurrection.  Christmas also means long distance phone calls, family, and new traditions as life ebbs and flows.

I still have my cheesy movies and new adult favorites (While you Were Sleeping – anyone?), hopes of receiving things I never expected and the desire to have a full house with close family.  Sometimes these things happen and sometimes they don’t.  Never the less, “Christmas Time is Here…”

linkup13001_zpsd63590aa

3 thoughts on ““Christmas Time is Here…”

  1. An Orange AND underwear. I don’t personally know your Grandma but I already love her.

    “Christmas now is being in different places and with different people and still having that deep sense of Jesus’ presence. Of knowing celebrating his birth will lead to celebrating his death and resurrection.”
    I really loved that bit. Loved that bit. Christmas really is more enjoyable when we come to know the true meaning of the season.
    Thanks for linking with us Erin.

  2. Thanks Aleshea and Bekah! My grandma was a pretty neat lady! We could always count on the orange and underwear. She would even place the stockings at the end of our beds so they were there when we work up.

Leave a Reply

